St Margaret of Scotland RC Church

Making Disciples Through Prayer, Faith Formation & Service

Sacrament of Baptism

The Sacrament of Baptism is the first and basic sacrament of Christian initiation. Baptism is conferred by pouring water three times on the recipient’s head, while reciting the baptismal prayer: “I baptize you in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit” (cf. Matthew 28:19).



Sacrament of Confirmation

The Sacrament of Confirmation is the second sacrament of Christian initiation. It is called Confirmation because it confirms and strengthens baptismal grace. It is conferred by the anointing with Sacred Chrism (oil mixed with balsam and consecrated by the bishop), which is done by the laying on of the hand of the minister who pronounces the sacramental words proper to the rite. These words refer to a gift of the Holy Spirit that marks the recipient as with a seal. Through the sacrament, the grace given in baptism is “strengthened and deepened. Like baptism, confirmation may be received only once, and the recipient must be in a state of grace (meaning free from any known unconfessed mortal sin) in order to receive its effects.

Sacrament of The Eucharist

The Sacrament of The Eucharist is the third of Christian initiation completes Christian initiation by which we consume the Body and Blood of Jesus Christ and participate in his one sacrifice. The first of these two aspects of the sacrament is also called Holy Communion. The bread (which must be wheaten, and which is unleavened) and wine (which must be from grapes) used in the Eucharistic rite.

Unlike the other sacraments of initiation, Baptism and Confirmation, this sacrament may be received multiple times throughout your life.